19.6 C
Thursday, December 7, 2023

New national aged care advisory council established

Must read

Seventeen prominent Australians will provide expert advice on aged care issues and the implementation of the Morrison Government’s $17.7 billion reform agenda in response to the Royal Commission into Aged Care Quality and Safety.

Led by inaugural chair Andrea Coote, the National Aged Care Advisory Council will ensure aged care reforms meet the needs and expectations of senior Australians, their families and carers and the Australian community.

Minister for Health and Aged Care, Greg Hunt, said the council formed part of the Federal Government’s comprehensive response to the royal commission.

“This is the most significant reform ever undertaken by an Australian Government to improve the care of senior Australians both in residential care and care at home,” Hunt said. 

“This advisory council will play a key role in guiding that implementation, alongside a new Council of Elders and an Inspector-General of Aged Care.

“I welcome the appointment of all 17 members to the advisory council and I look forward to working alongside them as we ensure our aged care system delivers respect, care and dignity for our senior Australians.”

Council of Elders nominations have been received and the membership of this representative body will be announced later this year.

The Council of Elders will be led by inaugural chair Ian Yates, AM, who will also sit on the advisory council.

Three working groups will be established to support the advisory council – the Workforce Advisory Working Group, the Quality Advisory Working Group and the Financing and Markets Advisory Working Group.

Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care Services, Senator Richard Colbeck said establishing the advisory council marked an important step forward.

“We know if you want things to change in the sector then the structure which supports it must also change,” Colbeck said.

“Aged care in Australia is undergoing its most significant reform in a generation.

“Strength through representation is key to ensuring these changes are made in the best interests of senior Australians and those who care for them.”

The advisory council members will advise on issues from navigating aged care services to building the capability of providers and the workforce to deliver the Government’s reforms.

“Our intention is to ensure we have strong representation across five consumer groups including Indigenous, culturally and linguistically diverse, carers and advocacy groups,” Colbeck said.

It will also provide a voice for home care, community and private providers along with a representative of the peak group Australian Aged Care Collaboration.

Colbeck thanked chair David Tune PSM and members of the previous principal aged care advisory group, the Aged Care Sector Committee which ceased in June.

He said the new advisory council is a departure from the previous representative model as it included practitioners with direct experience and activity within the sector, which will provide important insight during the implementation of the reforms.

 It includes health and allied health experts across several fields as well as IT systems, finance and workforce professionals.

National Aged Care Advisory Council Members:

Andrea Coote (National Advisory Council Chair)

Ian Yates AM (Council of Elders Chair)

Rachel Argaman

Mike Baird AO

Jennene Buckley

Elizabeth Callaghan

Andrew Condon

Jill Gallagher AO

Emma Hossack

Dr Sandra Iuliano

Claerwen Little

Libby Lyons

Maree Mccabe AM

Gail Mulcair

Assoc. Prof. Michael Murray

Mary Patetsos

Graeme Prior

- Advertisement -

Leave a Reply

Latest article

- Advertisement -
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Email newsletter sign-up